My Ultimatum

Hey guys,

Firstly I want to apologise for being so away from the blogging world this last week. I went on holiday (which I’ll do a post about soon) and have been super busy since getting back.

But anyway onto the situ… I need your help.

Today was my first day back at work after being away, and what better way to get back into the swing of things then dropping a big ass bomb on my life.

One of my colleagues is due to go on maternity leave in November for 12 months. Today my manager talked to me about the possible idea of seconding the job internally which he would want me to apply for.

This job is different then what I do, it’s not something i’ve thought about doing but it’s still a fun job. Secondly it is also higher paid, in fact two grades above mine *Cha-ching*

BUT 

I want/have/need to go travelling May-July 2018.

My issue is if I take this job, it will be another year until I go, and a lot can happen in a year.  My plan was to go travelling then come back and move out, which i have planned would be in place by next christmas.

The way I see it, is that my life is currently on hold until I get back. I want to go away get it out my system, come back move out, be an adult and get on with my life. Yes i have all these years ahead of me bla bla but i also really want to move out and if i go away next year then i can move out shortly after returning.

This job would be great, and the money would be even better, but the thought of not going away for another…well.. it would be something like another 1 year and 8 months breaks my heart. This is my dream and at the end of the day I have the rest of my life to work.

I want to go travelling and I am not going to get stuck in a job without the chance to go away while i can. The worst part is if i go away it’s not promised there will be a job for me when i get back. I know i will not be working there for the rest of my life but for the next few years it would work great.

I know my decision,  will go travelling next year even if that means I come back to no job and can’t move out. At the end of the day without sounding big-headed i am very employable, I’m young and still learning and because i don’t know what i want it opens me up to so many opportunities!

UGH give me your advice please because I’m not capable of thinking for myself! :)))

Sophiemagsx

17 thoughts on “My Ultimatum

  1. It’s always a bit odd ‘advising ‘ someone without knowing them but I can say a couple of things which may help.
    1. If I may be so bold- you seem to have already made your decision as is implied by your choice of words. i.e, you want to do the travelling choice.
    2. Do this : flip a coin- heads job,tails travel. Pretend you HAVE to abide by the coin’s decision. If you’re disappointed with the outcome, the other choice is what you really want.
    3. Being in your 20s is…strange. There’s no real sense of the impending future and you are wrapped up in the moment. So true to your period in life, the probable choice is the travelling. But if you want to think a little more…’forward’ consider the great job offer you’ve received which, by the way, will forever be a notch on your CV.
    4. If you were giving your best bud advice on this exact issue, what would you tell her/him?
    Hope this helped a bit 😊🌺

    Liked by 2 people

  2. IT’S ONLY A JOB! sounds silly because I know the world revolves around money these days… but go out and live and explore there is so much more to life than working and even if theres no job when you get back… theres always something round the corner! I say do do do it and don’t look back!! X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think personally you should go for the travelling. Obviously I don’t know your entire situation but like you said, you have your own life to work. If it’s your dream to travel, I say do it! I’m thinking about travelling after university because I know if I get into a job and move out of my family home completely, that’s it, I’m an adult and travelling as much as I’d like to would be off the cards and I feel like that’s similar for you? Different situation but same situation if that makes sense at all hahaha. But follow your dream, it sounds like you really want to do it from the blog post so in one sense, you’ve already made up your mind. I hope this helps even a tiny bit xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hon… you have already made your decision… you’re asking the rest of the world what you should do, but all they can tell you is what THEY would do.

    Who cares what WE say, what does your heart say?

    If you’re waiting for someone to tell you to do the ‘responsible’ thing… call your boss. Or your mom, maybe. But the interwebz is the place of dreams, and most of the people you will find around here will tell you what I did… follow your heart.

    No one is promised their next breath.

    Like

      1. Nope. There is no ‘right’ or ‘wrong’ answer with this step. It is literally a choice you get to make on desire alone. If you can afford to do this, and your heart is screaming at you to go… then this job is simply the Universe’s way of asking what matters more to you… the security of this new position, or your dream of travelling the globe. Don’t take the safe route if your heart and soul are crying out for adventure… as someone who DID ignore my true desires in lieu of ‘safety’… you will always wonder what your life would have been like ‘if only’.

        Follow your heart.
        Conquer your fears.
        Live your dreams.

        Like

  5. I would take the job opportunity option, and salary. You want your own place. ( Your CV will NOT necessarily get you another job in these current times, businesses are using less and less labor, machines are reducing the need for people )
    Ladder climbing is quite important ,it improves your life style. Travel will always be available,and wont change with time much.
    Never look back and think, “did I turn the wrong way”? I have and wish I had made the right call.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s so hard, isn’t it? As you say, a lot can happen in a year. But at the same time, it’s a change, and a nice little bump to your salary. I’d always say meet alternatives half way and get the best of both worlds if possible; accept the job, but state your plans to go away and see what happens. I think, deep down, you probably know what to do, and if something is ‘heartbreaking’ if you consider not doing it then that probably tells you what you need to know…xx
    Caz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

