My Film Camera: First attempt

Hey guys!

Recently I was lucky enough to be given a Zenit 12XP film camera by a friend. This camera features in my blog post comparing digital with film photography.

 

Since writing that post, I have now had my first roll of film developed. Exciting stuff!! Without blowing my own trumpet, i don’t think I’ve done too bad especially considering i hardly know how to work it! But anyway, here is what i managed to do…

I thought it would be best to break the photos up into categories so we can really see how the camera works (and how I work with the camera) for each element.

First up the bad ones (luckily only 4!!) I either completely over exposed or underexposed on these, and the trouble with a film camera is when you get to the end of a roll of film, the photos are not going to be as good quality anyway.

img_3398.jpg

Next up close-ups. I took two photos of some flowers from a friends garden. I’m impressed with the detail this old little camera picked up, and as it was a sunny day already, the exposure was easy to guess.

img_3399.jpg

Night-I didn’t have high expectations but they aren’t too bad. The contrast between the shadow and the sky work very nicely and the details in the sky are very clear.

img_3400.jpg

Landscapes- These are over exposed because these photos are very light, but it kinda works and I like the effect it has on the photos. It makes them look more vintage which was what i was going for.

img_3401.jpg

People- The time of day varied with these, but the camera has worked well. Subjects in these photos have a more soft look to them.img_3402.jpg

Finally animals- most are local wildlife but you can probably guess which ones weren’t wandering down my street…These have come out quite nicely. Animals are difficult to shoot considering they don’t stay still, but the camera has elegantly picked up the texture of their fur/feathers/skin!

img_3403.jpgThats all! I did take a few more which you can check out on my instagram- @_soph_hunt if you’re interested.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and let me know if you have a film/polaroid camera. This is the only one I have tried so i am very interested in what you guys have used!

Lots of love…

Sophiemagsx

9 thoughts on “My Film Camera: First attempt

Leave a Reply

